The Emmys: Who should win, and who will win

Let’s first agree that no one gives a rat’s ass who wins Best Guest Actor in a TV movie. I’m not even sure it’s an actual category. But it’s just to say that I don’t have all the categories here. Some of them I disregarded, either because I don’t watch the shows or because I can’t bother google the names. I’m lazy, what are you going to do?

So let’s start, shall we?

OUTSTANDING DRAMA

The Americans
Better Call Saul
Downton Abbey
Game of Thrones
Homeland
House of Cards
Mr Robot

combine_images 11

Mr Robot Should win, but life is unfair, and GoT will get the Emmy. Because E corp said so.

What about the others you may ask:

Better Call Saul is absolutely great, but I think the next seasons will deserve to be recognized more than this one. It’s happened before when a show outdoes itself but doesn’t get recognized because it already got the Emmy the year before. I’m looking at you Mad Men.

Downton Abbey’s last season was plainer than a plain bagel. I think they just nominated it as a goodbye and probably because of the Brexit. Almost like patting the UK on the shoulder and reassuring it that it belongs with the AngloSaxon world, while flipping the EU off.

I don’t like Homeland. So I can’t say.

House of Cards however is cursed. This season was OUTSTANDING. It’s gorgeous, it’s powerful, it’s bleak and it’s so fun to watch mainly because Clainsis  (This is the power couple nickname I created for them) is nothing compared to Frank VS Claire. So this season was above and beyond. I do know however some people who didn’t like it. I’m no longer friends with said people. But I see where they’re coming from. So I think that HoC won’t get the Emmy until they find the right balance between politics and real life… I don’t know if that makes sense.

I left The Americans for last, because I just started the show, I’m about to finish season 3. And oh boy, is it a good show! I just can’t! Liz and Phillip give me LIFE! It’s such a good show. I might never shut up if I keep talking about it.  I’m just so surprised I haven’t heard of it until lately.

LEAD ACTOR IN A DRAMA

Kyle Chandler, Bloodline
Rami Malek, Mr Robot
Bob Odenkirk, Better Call Saul
Matthew Rhys, The Americans
Liev Schreiber, Ray Donovan
Kevin Spacey, House of Cards

combine_images 2

I don’t watch Ray Donovan or Bloodline so I can’t say if the lead actors are any good. But I know for a fact that the other nominees here are TOP NOTCH! And I think our boo Rami will get this one.

Now to be perfectly honest, the role fits him like a glove. So it’s really hard to see where good casting ends and where talent starts. If Rami were to play a father of 4, someone like  Noah Solloway from The Affair or some really funny and bubbly character, I don’t know if he would show much skill. Elliot might not be a challenging role for Rami, but I found myself screaming” Give this man an Emmy” at the screen too many times.

Matthew Rhys is a genius. He’s particularly great at playing an actor, which is essentially the blessing and curse of all spies. But beneath the mask, there is always a bit of himself that resurfaces. It’s very delicate. But he won’t get the Emmy. Let me tell you why. I may not have watched the last season but I watched this.

And if the man didn’t get an Emmy for this. He would have to walk on water to get one.

Bob Odenkirk on the other hand is ridiculous. He can make you laugh, he can make you cry. He’s a 4X4. For me, range is what makes an actor a good one. That’s why, someone like Leo in my opinion isn’t a good actor. He has one mode only: angry & intense. I find that the magic happens when an actor is able to give a nuanced performance. Bob’s performance is definitely nuanced but I think it’s too early for him to get an Emmy.

I’m not even gonna talk about Kevin Spacey. The man is a legend. I’ll end up writing a book if I start. But I will say this: Kevin Spacey is going to live the Jon Hamm life for a while, until the show’s last season.

LEAD ACTRESS IN A DRAMA

Claire Danes, Homeland
Viola Davis, How to Get Away With Murder
Taraji P Henson, Empire
Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black
Keri Russell, The Americans
Robin Wright, House of Cards

combine_images.jpg

I heard great things about Orphan Black. But I haven’t started it yet. I also gave up on Empire. But not entirely, I do watch it occasionally because…obviously, Cookie and Luscious make the best couple to ever walk this earth. HTGAWM on the other hand is a mediocre show at best. It’s literally worth nothing if it weren’t for Viola. But she got her Emmy last year, so she won’t get a second one this year. That being said, Homeland was never my cup of tea ironically because I am totally apathetic to Claire Danes.

So it is no surprise if I say that Robin should and will win. The woman can act. End of story.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA

Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey
Lena Headey, Game of Thrones
Emilia Clarke, Game of Thrones
Maisie Williams, Game of Thrones
Maura Tierney, The Affair
Constance Zimmer, UnREAL

combin

Never heard of this unReal show, but I am really surprised by how GoT dominates this category. Because for me, GoT isn’t acting. I just never saw it as a character oriented show. GoT for me is more of a “thrilling” narrative with way too many characters. I can’t handle that. I need my condensed psychological drama. Something like the Affair. 4 main characters and a world between them. That’s way more interesting to me than an intricate plot with overused twists and frankly too many “surprise” murders.

Speaking of the Affair, Maura should win this one. She has been absolutely remarkable this season. Completely outdone herself.

But Good old Maggie Smith will win. One doesn’t simply stop playing Violet Crawley, Dowager Countess of Grantham before winning at least 3 Emmys.

Let’s do the rest, quick and dirty:

SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA

Jonathan Banks, Better Call Saul
Ben Mendelsohn, Bloodline
Peter Dinklage, Game of Thrones
Kit Harington, Game of Thrones
Michael Kelly, House of Cards
Jon Voight, Ray Donovan

Grandpa Mike should and will.

GUEST ACTRESS IN A DRAMA

Laurie Metcalf, Horace and Pete
Molly Parker, House of Cards
Ellen Burstyn, House of Cards
Allison Janney, Masters of Sex
Margo Martindale, The Americans
Carrie Preston, The Good Wife

Horace and Pete is a draaaammaaaa?

tumblr_inline_mr6c2cm71k1qz4rgp

Anyway, Grandma should and will win.

GUEST ACTOR IN A DRAMA

Max von Sydow, Game of Thrones
Reg E. Cathey, House of Cards
Mahershala Ali, House of Cards
Paul Sparks, House of Cards
Hank Azaria, Ray Donovan
Michael J. Fox, The Good Wife

comb

Mahershala should win, cauz he’s a gorgeous man and he can wear a suit like it’s no one’s business. But I actually have no idea who will win. Maybe Paul Spark?

OUTSTANDING COMEDY

Black-ish
Master of None
Modern Family
Silicon Valley
Transparent
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt
Veep

download

Another problem with these nominees is that Louie isn’t on the list. But in order to be nominated, Louis needs to make some Louie…

TV MOVIE

A Very Murray Christmas
All the Way
Confirmation
Luther
Sherlock: The Abominable Bride

I’m sorry. Who?

LIMITED SERIES

American Crime
Fargo
The Night Manager
The People v. OJ Simpson
Roots

Fargo. Full stop.

LEAD ACTRESS IN A LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE

Kirsten Dunst, Fargo
Felicity Huffman, American Crime
Audra McDonald, Billie Holiday: Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill
Sarah Paulson, The People v. O.J. Simpson
Lili Taylor, American Crime
Kerry Washington, Confirmation

Kirsten Dunst.

LEAD ACTOR IN A LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE

Bryan Cranston, All The Way
Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock: The Abominable Bride
Idris Elba, Luther
Cuba Gooding Jr, The People v. O.J. Simpson
Tom Hiddleston, The Night Manager
Courtney B. Vance, The People v. O.J. Simpson

combine_images

I was a total Tom Hiddleston fan. Especially since he’s done a couple of theatre plays, and also because The Night Manager is on AMC. But then Hiddleswift happened. So let’s not talk about that.

Idris Elba is great, but Luther isn’t my type. Sherlock neither.

That being said, I don’t need to see “All the way” to say how good Bryan Cranston is. I do read Variety though. And they’re pushing OJS in every single issue since the thing came out.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A LIMITED SERIES OR MOVIE

Melissa Leo, All The Way
Regina King, American Crime
Sarah Paulson, American Horror Story: Hotel
Kathy Bates, American Horror Story: Hotel
Jean Smart, Fargo
Olivia Colman, The Night Manager

Definitly not Sarah Paulson, cauz she talked some shit about TLO.

REALITY SHOW HOST

Ryan Seacrest, American Idol
Tom Bergeron, Dancing With the Stars
Jane Lynch, Hollywood Game Night
Steve Harvey, Little Big Shots
Heidi Klum & Tim Gunn, Project Runway
RuPaul Charles, RuPaul’s Drag Race 

Everyone else can just sashay away.

REALITY SHOW COMPETITION

The Amazing Race
American Ninja Warrior
Dancing With the Stars
Project Runway
Top Chef
The Voice

We all know the Bachelorette should get his one. Go Jojo Go.

VARIETY TALK SERIES

Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee
Jimmy Kimmel Live
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
The Late Late Show with James Corden
Real Time With Bill Maher
The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon

160718143840-johnoliverjerry-exlarge-169comedians-in-cars-getting-coffee-season-5-trailer-really-makes-you-anxious-video-88384_1

John Oliver tackles all American problems with such a “fresh off the boat” perspective, it’s so refreshing. So he should definitely win.

Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee is beautiful, it’s so genuine, it’s so real! It’s not a show, it’s a vlog. So it should also win.

But then there is Jimmy Fallon, hugely popular, awfully staged. So of course, he will win.

What maters though is that regardless of who wins, Graham Norton will always be the best host to ever walk this Earth.

There you go. It’s a wrap. We’ll see if any of these are right on September 18th.

3 thoughts on “The Emmys: Who should win, and who will win

Leave a Reply

